John Isaacs, The Architecture of Empathy (Pieta) 1, 2012, Privatsammlung
Exhibition | 20.05.2017 - 25.02.2018

Proof of Life / Lebenszeichen

Works from a Private Collection
The construction of the Tower of Babel as a massacre. The artist as a dead revolutionary. A stained-glass window made from butterfly wings. Proof of Life brings together 100 paintings, sculptures and photographic works that investigate existential questions in a both palpable and profound manner. Their aesthetic impact inevitably draws the viewer into its spell. What these works bring to view is linked to a tradition of influential pictures, some of which go far back in time. The presented works simultaneously quote, seduce, irritate, provoke and thematize concepts of moral values. This includes a summons not only to situate in historical terms what is being seen, but also to relate it quite concretely to the present. The works come from a private collection that has never before been publicly presented in this form. Proof of Life presents a precise selection of in some cases space-encompassing but always impressive works by international artistic stars such as Louise Bourgeois, Jake & Dinos Chapman, Anton Corbijn, Tracey Emin, Damien Hirst and Daniel Richter. [more...]
Jiri Geller, Dunkelheit VIII, 2009, Miettinen Collection
Exhibition | 04.02.2017 - 27.08.2017

Dreamaholic

Art from Finland. Miettinen Collection
Fascination Finland – With the exhibition Dreamaholic, the Weserburg is for the first time conveying insights into the contemporary art scene in Finland. The works come from the Miettinen Collection in Berlin and Helsinki. Along with established artists such as Eija-Liisa Ahtila, Jiri Geller and Robert Lucander, there are also many positions of young artists who in many cases still await discovery. All the works on display mirror the lively diversity of contemporary Finish art and demonstrate the high degree of independence with which these artists respond to international trends and participate in artistic debates. Along with sculpture and photography, the exhibition focuses on painting. The further development of Constructivist and Minimal concepts is represented along with the resumption and continuation of the figurative forms of Pop Art and postmodernism. The spectrum of the selected forms of expression extends from poetical visual inventions all the way to the homoerotic depictions of Tom of Finland. [more...]
Exhibition Zentrum | 03.06.2017 - 06.08.2017

Artists' Books for Everything

Artists' Books for Everything
Artists’ books represent a particular phenomenon within contemporary art. Since their emergence in the 1950s they have become established worldwide as a new type of art. Artists’ books are autonomous works of art in the form of books. Works of art in large editions, they exemplify the democratisation of art as well as the mobility and interconnectedness of artists. Artists’ books are independent works of art - published, printed and copied - that are born of an artistic conception, in the tradition of Dieter Roth, Ilya Kabakov and Marcel Broodthaers in Europe, Ed Ruscha and Michael Snow in North America, Ulises Carríon, Clemente Padin and Edgardo Antonio Vigo in Latin America, William Kentridge in Africa, Yoko Ono in Asia and Robert Jacks in Australia. [more...]
Artpool: Einladung zu Commonpress  Nr. 51: Hungary Can be Yours. 1983
Exhibition Zentrum | 16.06.2017 - 03.09.2017

Artpool

Active Archive of Contemporary Art in Hungary
The Artpool Archive, founded by Hungarian artist György Galántai and Julia Klaniczay in Budapest in 1979, is one of the seven important European archives that have made it their mission to collect, to archive and to preserve the artistic materials generated by the new alternative art movements since the 1960s. This exhibition presents an overview not only of the history and activities of Artpool, but also of its unparalleled collection of Eastern European artists’ publications, ranging from Samizdat to Sound Poetry. In cooperation with Artpool Art Research Center, Budapest.
Marikke Heinz-Hoek, Konstellation, 2008
Exhibition Zentrum | 27.01.2017 - 04.06.2017

Marikke Heinz-Hoek

Linkepoot - Books and Editions
The video- and installation artist Marikke Heinz-Hoek developed her first editions in the early 1990s using a computer. Over the following years she produced numerous other works in the same manner, in small to unlimited print runs. Her preoccupation with the northern German landscape and the confrontation with various biographies are recurring themes in her editions. The photo-edition “Stardust 6” from 2015, for instance, juxtaposes landscape drawings by the artist and original photographs of outer space, while a computer-disk-object from the 1990s deals with the life of Marilyn Monroe.[more...]
Robert Therrien: Ohne Titel (Butterfly), 1990, Sammlung Lafrenz © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2010
Works of Art from the Collections

Double Rotation

Works from the Lafrenz Collection
The Lafrenz Collection has substantially influenced the self-concept and image of the Weserburg, the collector’s museum in the middle of the river Weser, since its inception. As early as the 1970s, the Hamburg-based pharmacist Dr. Klaus Lafrenz had assembled a powerful and unmistakable collection of key positions in Minimal Art, Conceptual Art, Arte Povera, and related art trends from the United States and Europe. What particularly stands out is their questioning of the media and materials as well as of the basic conditions of the artist’s perception of these. Indeed, most of Lafrenz’s paintings, sculptures, and installations do not represent anything in a mimetic sense, do not depict anything that might exist outside of themselves. Instead, they create in a sensorial way unmistakable situations and confrontations that are immediately transferred into the space and ultimately to the viewer as well. [more...]

guided Tours

Proof of Life / Lebenszeichen
Thursday 01.June, 18.00 Hour 

Proof of Life / Lebenszeichen
Sunday 04.June, 15.00 Hour 

Proof of Life / Lebenszeichen
Thursday 08.June, 18.00 Hour 

[more]

Opening Hours

Tuesday to Sunday 11:00 a.m.–6:00 p.m.
Thursday 11:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Closed on Monday
[more]

Admission

Adults: €9.00
Reduced: €5.00
Families (2 adults/4 children): €16.00
[more]

Contact

++49–(0)421–59839-0
[more]

Newsletter

We’d be delighted to send you information about the Weserburg’s activities.
[Order free of charge]

Facebook Weserburg


recommend this page to a friend Sendprint this page Print