Exhibition Zentrum | 03.06.2017 - 06.08.2017

Artists' Books for Everything

Artists' Books for Everything
Artists’ books represent a particular phenomenon within contemporary art. Since their emergence in the 1950s they have become established worldwide as a new type of art. Artists’ books are autonomous works of art in the form of books. Works of art in large editions, they exemplify the democratisation of art as well as the mobility and interconnectedness of artists. Artists’ books are independent works of art - published, printed and copied - that are born of an artistic conception, in the tradition of Dieter Roth, Ilya Kabakov and Marcel Broodthaers in Europe, Ed Ruscha and Michael Snow in North America, Ulises Carríon, Clemente Padin and Edgardo Antonio Vigo in Latin America, William Kentridge in Africa, Yoko Ono in Asia and Robert Jacks in Australia. [more...]
Marikke Heinz-Hoek, Konstellation, 2008
Exhibition Zentrum | 27.01.2017 - 04.06.2017

Marikke Heinz-Hoek

Linkepoot - Books and Editions
The video- and installation artist Marikke Heinz-Hoek developed her first editions in the early 1990s using a computer. Over the following years she produced numerous other works in the same manner, in small to unlimited print runs. Her preoccupation with the northern German landscape and the confrontation with various biographies are recurring themes in her editions. The photo-edition “Stardust 6” from 2015, for instance, juxtaposes landscape drawings by the artist and original photographs of outer space, while a computer-disk-object from the 1990s deals with the life of Marilyn Monroe.[more...]
Paul Heimbach: 6 Würfel in 90 Ansichten. 2002
Exhibition Zentrum | 23.09.2016 EXTENDED TIL 15.01.2017

Paul Heimbach

Erinnerungen
Paul Heimbach schuf ein umfangreiches Werk von Künstlerbüchern und Auflagenobjekten. Beginnend mit frühen experimentellen Herangehensweisen in den 1960er Jahren, entstanden in späteren Phase mathematisch und kalendarisch geprägte Werkgruppen, in denen er durch den präzisen Einsatz von Farbe eine ganz eigene bildnerische Sprache entwickelte. Eine repräsentative Auswahl der publizierten Werke Paul Heimbachs befindet sich dank der großzügigen Unterstützung von Peter Foedisch im Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen und wird in dieser Kabinettausstellung gezeigt. Paul Heimbach starb 2013. Im Dezember 2016 wäre er 70 Jahre alt geworden.[more...]

News

CALL FOR ARTISTS BOOKS: Artists' Books for Everything

English_Call_for_Artists_Books.pdf

Questionnaire.pdf

Contact

Center for Artists' Publications / Weserburg
Teerhof 20
D - 28199 Bremen
Fon: +49 (0)421 59839 40
E-mail: studienzentrum@weserburg.de

Opening hours Study room

Tuesday to Friday 11:00 a.m. -12:30 a.m
Thurday 2:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
and by appointment

Opening hours Exhibitions

The exhibitionsof the Center for Artists' Publications can be seen to the opening times of the Weserburg:

Tuesday to Sunday 11:00 a.m. - 18:00 p.m.
Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Monday closed

[mehr]

YouTube

Here you can find the YOU TUBE Channel of the Center for Artists' Publications.

Facebook Center for Artists' Publications

NEWSLETTER Center for Artists' Publications

Sign up for information about the activities of the Center for Artists' Publications.
[sign up]

Radio in Flux

The Radio of the Center for Artists' Publications