Mateo Maté. Landscape Europe 2020-2021

27.08.2021 - 03.10.2021
Mateo Maté, Landscape Europe 2020-2021, Photo: Tobias Hübel

Commissioned by the Instituto Cervantes Bremen, the Spanish artist Mateo Maté created an art work especially for the Weserburg. The installation Landscape Europe 2020 is a gift donation to the museum.

Mateo Maté (* 1964, lives in Madrid) is considered one of the most famous Spanish artists of his generation. In his installations and video works everyday objects and routines are linked to socially relevant issues, mixing up the private and the public, the political and the existential, the individual and the collective. Interested in the symbolic value of the landscape as a cartographic metaphor, the artist brings ordinary things together in such a way that the mundane appears both mysterious and threatening.

In Landscape Europe 2020, for example, a toy model train continuously and almost defiantly travels through a landscape made up of European daily newspapers. A camera on the locomotive records the journey, while a projection on the neighboring wall reproduces the image in real time: headlines appear briefly yet not really comprehensively. The world’s news roll by and blur into a nightmarish, strangely placeless and unchanging landscape, linking memories of childhood toys with the experience of a camera-observed present day and a world threatened by fake news or fragile unions of nations.

 

In co-operation with the Instituto Cervantes Bremen

Fokus: Mateo Maté

20.11.2020 - 07.02.2021
Mateo Maté, Landscape Europe 2020, 2020

Im Auftrag des Instituto Cervantes Bremen hat der spanische Künstler Mateo Maté eine Arbeit eigens für die Weserburg angefertigt. Die Installation Landscape Europe 2020 wird ab dem 20. November in einem Raum innerhalb der Sammlungspräsentation So wie wir sind 2.0 präsentiert und dem Museum als Schenkung überlassen.

Mateo Maté (*1964, lebt in Madrid) gilt als einer der bekanntesten spanischen Künstler seiner Generation. Alltägliche Gegenstände und Routinen werden in seinen Installationen und Filmarbeiten mit gesellschaftlich relevanten Fragestellungen verknüpft. Privates und Öffentliches, Politisches und Existentielles, Individuelles und Kollektives vermischen sich. Interessiert am symbolischen Wert der Landschaft als kartographischer Metapher, führt der Künstler Bekanntes so zusammen, dass das Vertraute gleichermaßen geheimnisvoll und bedrohlich erscheint.

In Landscape Europe 2020 etwa durchfährt eine Spielzeugmodelleisenbahn beständig und fast trotzig eine Landschaft aus europäischen Tageszeitungen. Eine Kamera auf der Lok nimmt die Fahrt auf, während eine Projektion auf der benachbarten Wand das Bild in Echtzeit wiedergibt: Schlagzeilen tauchen kurz auf, ohne fassbar zu sein. Die Meldungen zur Lage der Welt ziehen vorbei und verschwimmen zu einer alptraumartigen, seltsam ortlosen Landschaft des Immergleichen. Erinnerungen an das Spielzeug unserer Kindheit verknüpfen sich mit den Erfahrungen einer kameraüberwachten Gegenwart und einer durch Fake News oder fragile Staatenverbünde bedrohten Welt.

 

In Kooperation mit dem Instituto Cervantes Bremen