Elina Brotherus

Why not?

25.10.2020 - 21.02.2021
Elina Brotherus, Portrait Series (Gelbe Musik with Sunflowers), 2016
Elina Brotherus, Portrait Series (Gelbe Musik with Sunflowers), 2016, from the series The Baldessari Assignments, Art´Us Collectors´Collective, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020
Elina Brotherus, Sebald
Elina Brotherus, Sebald's Hotel 4, 2019, from the series Sebaldiana. Memento mori, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020

Elina Brotherus (*1972 in Helsinki) is internationally known for her self-portraits. And the fact is that she herself may be seen in almost all of her photographic and video works. These include series resembling diaries, photographed landscapes and situational mood-pictures. The exhibition at the Weserburg directs attention to more recent works and groups of works created since 2016. Here the Finnish artist appropriates various contemporary concepts of art and integrates them into her own unmistakeable aesthetic. She thereby follows Arthur Køpcke’s motto: ‘People ask: Why? I ask: Why not?’

A masterly lightness and an absurd humour give rise to surprising pictorial inventions with which Brotherus engages in a fresh exploration of the possibilities offered by photography. At the same time, she examines and updates concepts from earlier generations; among others, she uses Event Scores of the international Fluxus movement from the 1960s and 1970s. Or she draws inspiration from John Baldessari’s idiosyncratic ideas of art, he came up with for his students: “Disguise yourself as another object – a tree maybe. Or becoming a tree. A big bird?”

Her photographic works and videos are sometimes subtle homage, sometimes critical revision. Thus Brotherus reenacts an iconic image of Francesca Woodman, who died far too early. Together with Erwin Wurm, she herself becomes a sculpture without further ado. Or she creates a playful reinterpretation of Araki’s erotic bondage photographs which challenges their male-dominant viewpoint with an alternative perspective that is all her own.

Within the exhibition, a further focal point is the new series Sebaldiana. Memento mori, which was created in 2019 on Corsica. On the trail of the writer W.G. Sebald, Elina Brotherus visits various literary settings and thereby establishes a special connection between literature and art, between fictional material and artistic adaptation.

Why not? is the artist’s first solo exhibition in a German museum and consists of around forty photographic works and two videos. A catalogue is appearing with illustrations of all the works and essays which both continue and deepen the discourse.

Curated by Ingo Clauß

 

Exhibition on floor 3

With generous support
Media Partner

Participating Collections

With loans from Art´Us Collectors´Collective, Miettinen Collection, AKO Kunststiftelse/The Tangen Collection and Elina Brotherus.

Exhibition catalog

The opening will be accompanied by a richly illustrated catalog with additional essays published by Hirmer Verlag:

Elina Brotherus. Why not?

Ed. Ingo Clauß for the Weserburg Museum für moderne Kunst
With contributions from Guido Boulboullé, Ingo Clauß, Janneke de Vries

German/English
160 pages, 104 illustrations
22.5 × 30 cm, bound with ribbon.
30 Euro

ISBN 978-3-7774-3684-5

Video program: Elina Brotherus

Elina Brotherus, Running Past Camera — Running Toward Camera, 2017 (Videostill)

Every sunday, 11-18 h, museum entrance

The Finnish artist Elina Brotherus is best known for her photographic oeuvre. Important video works were created at an early stage, most recently in larger numbers as independent works, but also to complement the new photo series. Here Brotherus combines intellectual sharpness with humorous lightness, technical precision with lustful spontaneity. The approximately one-hour program can be viewed continuously in the Weserburg Library. It includes video works from 2001 until today.

A maximum of 6 people can be in the room at any one time. Registration is not required.

The next dates

Sunday, October 25, 2020, 11am-2:30pm  and 4:30-6pm
Sunday, November 1, 2020, 11am-6pm
Sunday, November 8, 2020, 11am-6pm
Sunday, November 15, 2020, 11am-6pm
Sunday, November 22, 2020, 11am-6pm
Sunday, November 29, 2020, 11am-6pm

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Elina Brotherus

Why not?

25.10.2020 - 21.03.2021
Elina Brotherus, Portrait Series (Gelbe Musik with Sunflowers), 2016
Elina Brotherus, Portrait Series (Gelbe Musik with Sunflowers), 2016, from the series The Baldessari Assignments, Art´Us Collectors´Collective, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020
Elina Brotherus, Sebald
Elina Brotherus, Sebald's Hotel 4, 2019, from the series Sebaldiana. Memento mori, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020

International bekannt ist Elina Botherus (*1972 in Helsinki) für ihre Selbstporträts. Und tatsächlich ist sie in nahezu all ihren Foto- und Videoarbeiten selbst zu sehen. Darunter finden sich tagebuchartige Serien, Landschaftsaufnahmen und situative Stimmungsbilder. Die Ausstellung in der Weserburg lenkt den Fokus auf jüngere Arbeiten und Werkgruppen, die seit 2016 entstehen. Hier macht sich die finnische Künstlerin verschiedene Kunstkonzepte der Gegenwart zu Eigen und überträgt sie in ihre eigene, unverkennbare Ästhetik. Dabei folgt sie Arthur Køpckes Diktum: “People ask: Why? I ask: Why not?”

Mit souveräner Leichtigkeit und skurrilem Humor entstehen überraschende Bilderfindungen, mit denen Brotherus die Möglichkeiten der Fotografie neu auslotet. Zugleich überprüft und aktualisiert sie Konzepte früherer Generationen, u.a. nutzt sie Event Scores (Handlungsanweisungen für Performances und Partituren) der internationalen Fluxus Bewegung der 1960er/70er Jahre. Oder aber sie lässt sich von John Baldessaris eigenwilligen Kunstideen inspirieren, die er für seine Studierenden entwickelt hat: „Disguise yourself as another object – a tree maybe. Or becoming a tree. A big bird?“

Ihre Fotoarbeiten und Videos sind dabei mal hintersinnige Hommage, mal kritische Revision. So stellt Brotherus ein ikonisches Bild der viel zu früh verstorbenen Francesca Woodman nach. Zusammen mit Erwin Wurm wird sie kurzerhand selbst zur Skulptur. Oder sie schafft eine spielerische Neuinterpretation von Arakis erotischen Bondage-Fotografien, die dem männlich-dominaten Blick eine eigene Sichtweise gegenüberstellt.

Innerhalb der Ausstellung bildet die neue Serie Sebaldiana. Memento mori, die 2019 auf Korsika entstanden ist, einen weiteren Schwerpunkt. Auf den Spuren des Schriftstellers W.G. Sebald begibt sich Elina Brotherus an die verschiedenen literarischen Schauplätze und schafft so eine besondere Verbindung von Literatur und Kunst, von fiktionalem Stoff und künstlerischer Anverwandlung.

Bis zum 10. Januar 2021 befinden sich weitere Werke auf den Ausstellungsebenen 1 und 2 als punktuelle Interventionen innerhalb der Sammlungspräsentation So wie wir sind 2.0. Hier werden direkte Bezugnahmen und spannungsreiche Dialogsituationen mit anderen künstlerischen Positionen hergestellt. Zusammen geben sie einen erweiterten Einblick in die Denk- und Arbeitsweise von Elina Brotherus.

Why not?  ist die erste Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin in einem deutschen Museum und umfasst rund 40 Foto- und zwei Videoarbeiten.

Kuratiert von Ingo Clauß

 

Ausstellung auf Ebene 3

 

Fernsehbeitrag in der ARD-Mediathek

https://www.ardmediathek.de/radiobremen/video/buten-un-binnen-oder-regionalmagazin/presserundgang-weserburg-mit-elina-brotherus

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch
Medienpartner

Beteiligte Sammlungen

Mit Leihgaben von Art´Us Collectors´Collective, Miettinen Collection, AKO Kunststiftelse/The Tangen Collection und Elina Brotherus.

Katalog zur Ausstellung

Ausstellungskatalog: Elina Brotherus. Why not?

Zur Eröffnung erscheint im Hirmer Verlag ein bildreicher Katalog mit weiterführenden Essays :

Elina Brotherus. Why not?

Hg. Ingo Clauß für die Weserburg Museum für moderne Kunst
Mit Beiträgen von Guido Boulboullé, Ingo Clauß, Janneke de Vries

Deutsch/Englisch
160 Seiten, 104 Abbildungen
22,5 × 30 cm, gebunden mit Lesebändchen.
30 Euro

ISBN 978-3-7774-3684-5

Online bestellen >>

Videoprogramm: Elina Brotherus

Elina Brotherus, Running Past Camera — Running Toward Camera, 2017 (Videostill)

Jeden Sonntag, 11-18 Uhr, Museumseintritt

Die finnische Künstlerin Elina Brotherus ist vor allem für ihr fotografisches Œuvre bekannt. Dabei sind bereits früh wichtige Videoarbeiten entstanden, zuletzt in größerer Zahl als eigenständige Werke, aber auch ergänzend zu den neuen Fotoserien. Hier bringt Brotherus intellektuelle Schärfe mit humorvoller Leichtigkeit, technische Präzision mit lustvoller Spontaneität zusammen. Das ca. einstündige Programm ist fortlaufend in der Bibliothek der Weserburg zu sehen. Es umfasst Videoarbeiten von 2001 bis heute.

Maximal 6 Personen können sich in dem Raum gleichzeitig aufhalten. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Die nächsten Termine

Sonntag, 6. Dezember 2020, 11-18 Uhr
Sonntag, 13. Dezember 2020, 11-18 Uhr
Sonntag, 20. Dezember 2020, 11-18 Uhr
Sonntag, 27. Dezember 2020, 11-18 Uhr

Pressestimmen

„Why not? ist eine Ausstellung, die Spaß macht, berührt und Besucher mit einer Event-Score-Box sogar zum Nachmachen auffordert.“ Weser-Kurier

„Diese Geste fotografischer Selbstermächtigung reiht sich in eine Tradition von Künstlerinnen wie Claude Cahun, Cindy Sherman oder Ana Mendieta ein. Sie nutzen die bildliche Selbstinszenierung, um Fragen von Identität und Weiblichkeit aufzuwerfen.“ Neues Deutschland

„Wir tauchen ein in die Szenerien, die die Künstlerin ausmalt. Und das ist mal beklemmend, ein anderes Mal wunderschön.“ Nordsee Zeitung