What is the Proper Way to Display a Flag?

19.11.2022 - 23.04.2023
Igor Grubic, 366 Liberation Rituals (Bicycle and flag), actions in public space, 2008-2009, Art Collection Telekom
Igor Grubic, 366 Liberation Rituals (Bicycle and flag), actions in public space, 2008-2009, Art Collection Telekom

Flags are vividly expressive political symbols; from time immemorial, they have found a place in artistic works. They stand for shared, communal convictions and values, emphasize national sovereignty, mark territorial borders, enclose and exclude. But flags are also used for protest and resistance. They are a fixed element of social conflicts that are fought out on the streets of this world.

The group exhibition What is the Proper Way to Display a Flag? focuses on international positions from an international context and endeavors, by means of contemporary artistic production, to reflect upon the significance, impact and utilization of flags. The selected works present artistic strategies that use flags as material or as a contentual point of reference; included in the exhibition are space-encompassing installations, painting, photography, and video works.

The focus is on the bringing to light of historical contexts, on currently topical, socially critical statements and counter-images, on contentual reinterpretations of symbols and of signs of domination, but sometimes also on poetical, enigmatic approaches. Questions concerning our various conceptions of identity, nation, and provenance come into view; there is simultaneously a focus on freedom of opinion and the right to demonstrate, on activism, empowerment and respect.

Artists: Yael Bartana, Rufina Bazlova, Fernando Sanchez Castillo, Yvon Chabrowski, Stephen Dean, Igor Grubić, Sharon Hayes, Samson Kambalu, Ahmet Ögüt, Julian Röder, Jaune Quick-to-See Smith, Nasan Tur and other

Curated by Ingo Clauß

What is the Proper Way to Display a Flag?

19.11.2022 - 23.04.2023
Igor Grubić, Bicycle and Flag, 366 Liberation Rituals, 2008 - 2009, Courtesy Art Collection Telekom
Igor Grubić, Bicycle and Flag, 366 Liberation Rituals, 2008 - 2009, Courtesy Art Collection Telekom

Flaggen sind starke politische Symbole, die vielfältig in künstlerischen Werken aufgegriffen werden. Sie stehen für gemeinschaftliche Überzeugungen und Werte, betonen nationale Souveränität, markieren territoriale Grenzen, schließen ein und aus. Flaggen werden aber auch für Protest und Widerstand genutzt. Sie sind fester Bestandteil gesellschaftlicher Konflikte, die auf den Straßen dieser Welt ausgetragen werden.

Die Ausstellung What is the Proper Way to Display a Flag? in der Weserburg konzentriert sich auf aktuelle Positionen aus einem internationalen Kontext, um mittels zeitgenössischer Kunstproduktion über die Bedeutung, die Wirkmacht und den Einsatz von Flaggen nachzudenken. Die ausgewählten Werke zeigen künstlerische Strategien, die Flaggen als Material oder als inhaltlichen Bezugspunkt nutzen, darunter raumgreifende Installationen, Malerei, Fotografie und Videoarbeiten.

Es geht um Sichtbarmachung historischer Kontexte, um aktuelle gesellschaftskritische Setzungen und Gegenbilder, um inhaltliche Umdeutungen von Symbolen und Herrschaftszeichen, bisweilen aber auch um poetisch-hintergründe Annäherungen. Fragen über unsere unterschiedlichen Vorstellungen von Identität, Nation und Herkunft kommen in den Blick. Und damit zugleich Fragen über Meinungs- und Demonstrationsfreiheit, über Aktivismus, Empowerment und Respekt.

Kuratiert von Ingo Clauß